Epilogue

14 Sep

ep·i·logue/ˈepəˌlôg/
Noun: A section or speech at the end of a book or play that serves as a comment on or conclusion to what has happened.

We had a son:

RANSOM PAUL BECHARD

The ransomed of the Lord shall return,
And come to Zion with singing.
With everlasting joy on their heads.
They shall obtain joy and gladness;
Sorrow and sighing shall flee away.

Isaiah 51:11

Time of Birth
April 10th 2012
12:50 pm

Weight & Length
4lb 15oz
18inches


I went into labor at 34 weeks after a 3 day slow water leak.
He was born at Baylor in Grapvine under the watch of Dr. Clark

I labored for 34 hours
Our sweet midwife was unable to be there
Goodman never left my side and was my saviour

At 30 hours I was put on pitocin to spur me through the last few cms
Once that hit my system
exhaustion and pain made an epidural imperative
allowed me rest for a few precious hours

Woke renewed and ready to push
20 mins later he crowned

Ransom started crying before his chin was even out
A welcome sound meaning his lungs were healthy
We were told constantly that his progress for such an age was remarkable

Goodman was given the privilege of declaring
“he’s a boy”
to me
by then I somehow knew

I was able to touch and kiss him for a few minutes
My thoughts were relief and joy and peace

It was the most difficult thing either of us have endured
Even now I’m in awe of the magnitude of the experience

Because of his premature birth he spent 10 days in NICU
for non-emergency watching

I was able to nurse him from the beginning
when not under the bili lights
(for slight jaundice)
Both Goodman and I had unlimited contact to him


We were surrounded by the Body of Christ
Indeed they lifted us and supported us
Never has she looked so like her Groom to me

Bringing him home was the deepest joy

My heart was so full

He is the perfect mix of us
French passion & temper
Romanian zeal for adventure & impatience
Bechard head & dimples
Vrazo hairline & nose

God has been good

:photos by Mercy Vrazo:

One Response to “Epilogue”

  1. Mercy 09/14/2012 at 2:02 pm #

    *Clasps hands*
    My photos look so good when you display them!

    I love you guys.

Leave a Reply

